FRG Topology Workshop 2012

Topology and Invariants of Smooth 4-manifolds

March 12-16, 2012
The Mutiny Hotel, Coconut Grove, FL

Organized by Nikolai Saveliev

This workshop will be held in connection with the FRG project supported by the NSF Grant DMS-1065905 "FRG: Collaborative Research: The Topology and Invariants of Smooth 4-manifolds". It will host the principal investigators on the grant and several invited researchers. The discussion will center around exotic smooth structures on small 4-manifolds, using techniques from gauge theory, symplectic topology, and Heegaard Floer homology.

Among invited speakers is Dr. Cagatay Kutluhan from Harvard University, who will give a short course on March 15-16 related to his work on Heegaard and Seiberg-Witten Floer homologies. Other speakers will be determined on the first day of the workshop.

The Program (talks begin at 9:30am)

Monday: Selman Akbulut, Burak Ozbagci
Tuesday: Slawomir Kwasik, Tian-Jun Li, Anar Akhmedov
Wednesday: Cagry Karakurt, Kouichi Yasui, Mehmet Arikan
Thursday: Cagatay Kutluhan
Friday: Cagatay Kutluhan, Tian-Jun Li, Daniel Ruberman

Participants will include:

Selman Akbulut - Michigan State University
Anar Akhmedov - University of Minnesota
Mehmet Arikan - University of Rochester
Kenneth Baker - University of Miami
Weimin Chen - University of Massachusetts
Cagry Karakurt - University of Texas
Cagatay Kutluhan - Harvard University
Slawomir Kwasik - Tulane University
Thomas Leness - Florida International University
Tian-Jun Li - University of Minnesota
Burak Ozbagci - Koc University, Turkey
Daniel Ruberman - Brandeis University
Nikolai Saveliev - University of Miami
Kouichi Yasui - Hiroshima University, Japan